The Vinyl Vault - December 1, 2020

It has been a roller coaster of a week.  Thanksgiving was pretty quiet this year as I spent it at home alone on my couch (working on tonight's show).  I got some "Thanksgiving Dinner" delivered.  It was terrible.  Ha!  I'm a surprisingly good cook, so I'm not sure why I didn't just cook myself a nice dinner.  

Friday was Record Store Day Black Friday.  I was a little more restrained this year but I still picked up some great albums.  I missed out on the Dr. Demento album but otherwise got what was on my trimmed down list.

I'm about to move into a new place which will have a finished basement dedicated to the radio show and my record collection. No more "radio studio apartment."  Now it will just be The Vinyl Vault radio studio.  Suits me perfectly.

We have some great music in store for you tonight.  New music from Deradoorian, Julia Jacklin, Fuzz, Songhoy Blues, and Ruston Kelly.  I'm also starting to get into the festive mood with a few holiday songs sprinkled in.  See the complete playlist below.  I hope you enjoy the mix!  - JC

    • Electric Light Orchestra - Don't Bring Me Down // Discovery
    • Gauche - Pay Day // A People's History of Gauche
    • The Animals - Please Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood // Best of The Animals
    • Iggy Pop - Loves Missing // Free
    • Jesse Lee Turner - Shake, Baby, Shake // Little Space Girl (7" Single)
    • The Cryin' Shames - Please Stay // The Emotional, Cosmic & Occult World of Joe Meek
    • Moondog - Fog on the Hudson // On the Streets of New York
    • The Violets - Streetlight Sky // Athens, GA
    • Vince Guaraldi Trio - Christmas Time is Here (Alternate Vocal Take) // Christmas Time is Here (7" Single)
    • David Bowie - Golden Years // ChangesOneBowie
    • The Fall - Hit the North (Part One) // The Frenz Experiment (Expanded Edition)
    • Deradoorian - It Was Me // Corsicon Sun
    • Julia Jacklin - To Perth, Before the Border Closes // To Perth, Before the Border Closes (7" Single)
    • The Laughing Gravy - Vegetables // The Land of Sensations and Delights
    • Bettye Swann - I'm Lonely for You // Freedom for the Stallion
    • Fuzz - End Returning // III
    • The Outnumbered - I Feel So Sorry Now // Strum & Thrum: The American Jangle Underground 1983 - 1987
    • Blondie - Rapture // The Best of Blondie
    • Eurythmics - Jennifer // Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This)
    • The Darkness - Christmas Time (Don't Let the Bells End) // A Very Cool Christmas
    • Des Demonas - The South Will Never Rise Again // Des Demonas
    • Bad Brains - F.V.K. // Live 
    • Ramones - Swallow My Pride // Leave Home
    • Songhoy Blues - Worry // Optimisme
    • ABC - The Look of Love, Pt. 1 // The Lexicon of Love
    • Ruston Kelly - Dark and Bloody Ground // Pretty Pictures in My Mind (7" Single)
    • D Ceats - If We Had Met // Monumental (7" EP)
    • Milton DeLugg - Hooray for Santa Claus // Hooray for Santa Claus (7" Single)
    • Nirvana - All Apologies // MTV Unplugged New York
    • Tab Thomas - There Ought to Be a Law // New Orleans Soul 1969
    • Prince - Purple Rain // Purple Rain

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published